top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasya Danashta

Week 4 - Worth the Suspense.

I've realized that the knowledge of my IDPT (Interior Design Principles and Theory) module in college has really come to use realistically applied to the design while designing the canteen.


THE PRINCIPLES APPLIED

Asymmetrical Balance. The canteen itself has an unusual proportion due to the architectural design to be slanted, results in an asymmetrical proportion of elements with a focal point. Hierarchy / Emphasis. The canteen table with eye-catching pendant and ceiling plants has become the focal point of the whole canteen. Unity / Repetition. The similarity in the pattern, color, and texture throughout the canteen shows that the space to look more united. Scale & Proportion. The focal point pendant has different shapes but combined altogether, they complement and creates harmony with one another.



FINAL LAYOUT AND DESIGN FOR PRESENTATION TO CLIENT.

Monday was the final submission to the client. I was told to send the complete floorplan along with renderings of the 2 options. I have no idea how the client will react to the design, it feels terrifying. The following image is the final floorplan layout with complete measurements of the flow of circulation as well as the measurements from table to table.


DESIGN OPTION 1

The use of wood paneling wall treatment gives a stylish and adds a more cozy vibe to the whole canteen. It shows the repetition of materials coming together from the wood paneling on the wall treatment and on the canteen counter as well.


click for a full view image of the canteen.


DESIGN OPTION 2

The use of ceramic wall treatment on the half bottom part creating a posh look to the canteen and modern touches from the round mirror. The second option is actually made as the wood may rot the wood or rattan materials when it rains heavily. Giving the client another option to pick is an important and useful thing to do as an interior designer.


click for a full view image of the canteen.


Since the wait of the presentation, I'm not busy with my work as all I have to do is patiently wait. I was then told to help Steffi (my intern friend) with her work if there's anything I can do. Here's what I helped her out with, the technical drawings for the bedroom cabinet. And just helping her a little bit with opinions through Whatsapp chat.


WORTH THE SUSPENSE.

I was really nervous about the client's feedback. Since Monday, which is the time when the design was sent, I haven't got any news yet until Tuesday. Although Wednesday was my day off due to full-day classes, I was anxious and curious so I asked about the presentation, it turns out there had been obstacles presenting to the client. The client is a senior so he is not very familiar with advanced technology.


Despite taking days to finally able to present to the client, but MetR Design company can always make things work. On Thursday morning, Mr. Prama presented the design to the client. The presentation goes from around 10 AM and I was informed about the feedback of the presentation on around 5 PM. It took quite some time as it was a 3 story interior design project.


I kept looking at my phone and waiting with literal suspense, when the notification of feedback from Mr. Prama came rushing on my phone I immediately checked. The feedback was very positive! Even though there are some changes, mostly because of the location/site. In the end, Mr. Prama said "But overall they really loved the design. Keep up the good work!" It's like a weight has been lifted out of my chest.


THE REVISIONS.

As the client has approved the overall design, there are still some changes due to the current built situation in the Jakarta Selatan site. The seating layout will be changed a little bit as a semi see-through stone wall treatment had been installed. Other changes are regarding the ceiling from wire mesh to 'expanded metal' and color of the fabrics; from white to grey, so it doesn't get dirty easily.



The last change of the Sketchup model was involving the layout and it was not much progress. This week was so far the most chill week but with suspense and anxiety. It was all worth it though... Also, Friday is a holiday (International Workers Day), so Enjoy your Long Weekend! :)


– Tasya Danashta

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cheers!

bottom of page