top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasya Danashta

Cheers!

It is the end of my internship with METR Design. These are some of the things I experienced and analyzed throughout my internship journey. Here are my thoughts of my 3 months of doing a Work from home internship.


SWOT ANALYSIS

Additional: Social media can be a very effective way in marketing and management, but having the owners to handle everything by themselves is hard. I suggested to have more employees, but due to this Global pandemic that's hitting us all, it wouldn't be the best decision. I think using an 'outsourcing' method would be a great idea currently.

GENERAL FEE

Interior designers have different kinds of methods of charging the price for the services. It can be using percentage, time, square meter, etc. The most common is installing a rate per square meter of space. In Jakarta alone, mostly the average price of certified designer interior services reaches around Rp 200,000 (minimum) to Rp 1,000,000 per square meter. METR Design provides interior design and construction from the range of Rp. 500,000 to Rp. 1,000,000 and uses the rate per square meter of space which is a common method.


COMMUNICATION

During the work from home internship situation, I've analyzed the situation that it's hard to communicate through just WhatsApp. Despite so, we have open, 2-way communication. My supervisor always asks of my opinions about certain things and take into consideration of my ideas and/or suggestions. Mr. Prama usually asks to have a group metr zoom call or just personal zoom call to communicate easier and clearer for urgent submissions, which works really well.


MY EXPERIENCE

I really feel that during my internship I did quite some researches and visual compiling which is really important to get inspired, create ideas, and not just it gives me more knowledge but also opening my eyes to play with elements, trying out different kind of designs and just never be afraid to try new things. In most designs for Gaharu and Cikarang Residence, I also learned that giving options, asking a second person's opinion is really important while designing to know another point of view and could be further considered as options.


Throughout my internship, the company focuses more on working together as a team. Although I’m just an intern, I truly feel like I belong in the company with only a short period of time as I was actually given the freedom to give an opinion or give out my ideas into the design. Throughout designing of the canteen, the communication with my supervisor always went 2 ways. My supervisor gives a lot of help, inquire what I think at all times, and my opinion is being taken to consideration to be discussed further.


IF I WERE TO HAVE MY OWN COMPANY

I think METR Design is an amazing company, and I chose right doing an internship at the I think METR Design is an amazing company, and I chose right, doing an internship at the company as I learned so much and experienced the flow of professional interior design company. It’s such a pleasure to do an internship in METR Design for almost 3 months. Despite the company of a little bit lacking in social media presence, but I think the founders have great connections built with the foundation of trust and good communication.


If I were to have my own company, seeing with how the connection, bond, and teamwork Mr. Prama & Mr. Bayu had, I think it’ a good idea to start a company with a partner and I would like to adapt their organizational structure but I would personally add or outsource a social media manager or take more time in social media as, during this time, social media is crucial. I would also most-likely to adapt to their working habit in terms of the design stages as it is very clear stages and the company’s communication skills as well as their working ethics showing leadership skills with strictness yet kindness to their employees. These 3 months are a wrap and such a pleasure of being a part of METR Design as an internee.

in courtesy of pinterest.


THANKYOU

I would like to express my very great appreciation to METR Design company to take me as an internee during this COVID-19 situation. I would also like to offer my gratitude to my supervisor, Mr. Prama, who guided me throughout my 3 months of interning experience in the company.


3 months have passed by really quickly. I'm glad that my internship went really well, I get to experience and learn from my supervisor giving such valuable and constructive suggestions during the development of this assessment, with always having creative design solutions at the end of the day. His willingness to give his time, despite his busy schedule so generously has been very much appreciated. I'm certainly going to miss working as an intern in METR Design. The internship I thought would be scary and I would be stressed out, but after going through everything, I could say that it went really well. I did it, so can you. Cheers!


- Tasya Danashta

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page