top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasya Danashta

III - Journey to Self Love.

Looking in the mirror. Seeing myself for who I truly am. Loving every single inch of my body. Loving every single thing that I see without a doubt. Accepting and loving all my imperfections on every aspect. That is self-love.


2018.


During the year the photo was taken, even before and after that, I haven't been loving myself. I have been comparing myself to others, a lot. Knowing it's really toxic but not able to help it because of the thought that society standards needs to be followed. I smile, I laugh. But never truly smile of the love for myself, because I never did.


Self-acceptance is difficult. Negative thoughts and feelings I have for myself have become like a seed that grows into a tree. Not knowing when it will die but always keep growing either to something fruitful which are the improvements and love, or more often growing into hatred of imperfections for myself. Having society standards, comparing, and not being able to achieve it is just sad (that's what I thought). That way of thinking is toxic. I don't have to be like others, me being myself is enough and people around me likes me for who I am.


in courtesy of pinterest.


ONE STEP CLOSER

In the present, I've faced difficulties and damages that hurt me but it turns out as something that brings me back up, making me even a stronger person. I learned that my path to self-love was by being hurt (it doesn't necessarily apply the same to others), but it gives me the motivation to start learning to love myself, building my life, and improve my self for the better. I slowly learn not only to love myself physically but mentally. I now see my self-growth and I now feel worthy of all the good things in this world. Everyone is worthy of such precious beautiful things in the world. Know that, whoever you are, you are worthy. Have the courage to be proud of who you are and who you've become up to now in your life. You, living your life until now is really something to be thankful and cherished for.


in courtesy of pinterest.


START THE LOVING YOURSELF

Self-love doesn't happen in a blink of an eye, it takes time. But remember to always be proud when taking even one step to loving yourself. I am on a journey of self-love. It could be a journey for a lifetime for all I know, but every step is precious. Here are some things that helped me throughout my process of self-love that could maybe help you too :)


Enjoy and trust the process. Everyone's journey is different, we all have different kinds of struggles and limitations in life. But one thing is for sure, we are all aiming the beauty of imperfections we see in ourselves by loving ourselves. Progress could be hard to face and be a bumpy road, but when you enjoy and trust every step of the way you will definitely feel free and happier to go through with the journey.

Give yourself some space. Be gentle, responsible, and be forgiving of yourself for all the things you did in the past that may have broken you. Give time for yourself to think the positives, relax a little to have more time to focus on just you, and let the negatives be a pathway to success by gaining experience and reconstructing for the better.

Live for yourself and express yourself, who you truly are. Why live to please others, we are the ones who are going on with our lives, we decide our own life, and when to start loving yourself. Only you, yourself can do it. "The truth is that not a single person can choose the cards they receive, but everyone chooses how they play their cards." - Nikki Banas.


in courtesy of pinterest.


We've made it this far, we can make it through whatever. Remember, the most painful struggles can grant the most necessary growth. Thank you for reading my blog series. I hope it can be useful for you and be a motivation to start doing something good for yourself or to anyone around you in the journey of overcoming anxiety, accepting insecurities, and loving themselves. Be kind to everyone, stay positive, spread love


– Tasya Danashta

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page