top of page
  • Writer's pictureTasya Danashta

II - Insecurities.

Updated: May 26, 2020

Each and everyone has insecurities, everyone does and I know I have mine. It is fine to have insecurities, it really is. Being insecure is being uncertain about yourself and not having confidence. I started to really realize and hate my insecurities during middle school and it has gotten worse during high school when I was still in my most indecisive state of mind. Even when entering college it has gotten worse and worse, since I'm still in the process of adapting with the people, environment, etc. One of my insecurity is my height, I'm really petite. I wasn't always insecure about it until people point it out to me which becomes this huge negative thing that I really think about which stresses me out. What worsens it is that people tend to joke around about me being short which obviously is a sensitive topic, though sometimes it's fine and I joke about it too, to make it less hurtful. But other times when I have a lot on my plate to think about, it's just too much. Being reminded of my insecurity constantly brings me down and made me have a mindset "If I'm not tall, I'm not good enough in this world." The fact that it becomes a standard behavior that people compare other people to their standards is really really wrong, as well as bringing up a sensitive topic. But know that you should never let anyone tell you who you are and make you think you are not good enough. Everyone is beautiful in their own way.


in courtesy of pinterest.


MY WAY OF OVERCOMING IT

It takes a long time to make me realize that I am beautiful in my own way. So what if I'm short? I used to see encouraging words and quotes to let go of my insecurity and make me feel better, but it was all temporary. The only way of overcoming it, is to embrace who I really am.


You do you! Try to not care what other people think of you that effects you negatively, what you think of yourself is what matters. Always be confident in yourself as beauty is found in imperfections. Insecurities make you imperfect and your imperfection makes you unique.

Love yourself. Your way of hating yourself by being insecure and constantly wanting to be perfect by comparing yourself to others has always been a bad habit that grows rapidly. Think highly and positively about yourself. Ask yourself "What more can I do to improve to be even better?" rather than "Why am I fat and never getting close to being skinny?". (More about in Part III).

Consistency. Loving your insecurities takes time but all you need is consistency. There's no way if you've been on the journey for a short period of time and already expecting results instantly. Enjoy the process, do it with love and be consistent, you will surely make it to the finish line. For all the times you fall, always get back up, you will definitely be more comfortable in your own skin, and be happy with your beautiful imperfections.


in courtesy of pinterest.


REMEMBER TO

“Be vulnerable enough to accept your flaws and know that they are what make you human; they are what make you real. Be confident enough to accept and cherish your strengths. Don’t minimize them or hide them. They are your beautiful gifts to share with the world. Be brave enough to say, you know what, all of this is who I am. I make so many mistakes. I can be forgetful, I am messy. But… I am doing my best with what I’ve got. And I am so proud of that. I am so proud of myself. And I am proud of who I am becoming.”


- Tasya Danashta

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page